You are currently viewing NSE Timings and Holidays List 2020

NSE Timings and Holidays List 2020

NSE stands for National Stock Exchange. It is open on  weekdays from Monday to Friday. It is mostly closed on the weekends, Saturday and Sundays. There are special trading sessions which may allow opening during weekends also if it’s announced by NSE.

NSE Holidays :

In the year 2020, NSE has announced the list of holidays where the trading will not happen on  weekdays.

MahashivratriFebruary 21Friday
HoliMarch 10Tuesday
Ram NavamiApril 02Thursday
Mahavir JayantiApril 06Monday
Good FridayApril 10Friday
Dr.Baba Saheb Ambedkar JayantiApril 14Tuesday
Maharashtra DayMay 01Friday
Id-Ul-Fitr (Ramzan ID)May 25Monday
Mahatma Gandhi JayantiOctober 02Friday
Diwali-BalipratipadaNovember 16Monday
Gurunanak JayantiNovember 30Monday
ChristmasDecember 25Friday

From the above table, April month  is the least trading month. Another Fact is that, there is no holiday on Wednesday this year. Only one Weekly expiry holiday.

Below is the list where holidays falling on Saturday or Sunday.

Republic DayJanuary 26Sunday
Bakri IdAugust 01Saturday
Independence DayAugust 15Saturday
Parsi New YearAugust 16Sunday
Ganesh ChaturthiAugust 22Saturday
MoharramAugust 30Sunday
DaseraOctober 25Sunday
Diwali-Laxmi Pujan*November 14Saturday

*Muhurat Trading will be conducted. Timings of Muhurat Trading shall be notified subsequently.

Please download our Free Consolidated list of Trading Holidays here. This Sheet will help you to plan your trades/investment.

NSE Trading Holidays

Source: The NSE Holidays list can also be seen from this link.


NSE Trade Timings :

The trading on the Equity segment will happen in the different sessions with different timings.

1.Morning Block Deal Window:

    • It opens between 08:45 to 09:00 am.                                              NSE Morning block deal window time

2.Pre-Open Session

    • Order Entry / Modification opening time : 09:00 am
    • Order Entry / Modification opening time : 09:08 am                 NSE Pre opening session time

3.Regular Trading session

    • Normal Market opening bell: 09:15 am
    • Normal Market closing bell: 03:30 pm                                         NSE regular trading session time

4.Afternoon Block Deal Window:

    • Between 02:05 pm to 02:20 pm                                                     NSE Afternoon block deal window time

5.Closing session

    • It is between 03:40 pm to 4:00 pm                                                NSE Closing session time

6.Muhurat* trading session

    • It will between 05.30 pm to 06.30 pm


**Muhurat trading session happens in Diwali every year.

The exchange has the right to extend, advance or reduce the trading hours when it is necessary.

There are some instance where the market has been closed for the entire regular trading day also.

Click here to read more articles.

About NSE:

The National Stock Exchange of India Ltd. (NSE) is the leading stock exchange in India and the second largest in the world by nos. of trades in equity shares from January to June 2018, according to the World Federation of Exchanges (WFE) report.

NSE launched electronic screen-based trading in 1994, derivatives trading (in the form of index futures) and internet trading in 2000, which were each the first of its kind in India.

The Exchange has a fully-integrated business model comprising our exchange listings, trading services, clearing and settlement services, indices, market data feeds, technology solutions and financial education offerings.

It is a pioneer in technology and ensures the reliability and performance of its systems through a culture of innovation and investment in technology.

Mr. Vikram Limaye is the Managing Director and CEO of NSE.

NSE Products :

Equity & Equity Linked Products



Share with your friends if you like

Leave a Reply